Friday Fictioneers – Rob’s Chair

Every week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (thank you, Rochelle!) hosts a flash fiction challenge, to write a complete story, based on a photoprompt, with a beginning, middle and end, in 100 words or less. Post it on your blog, and include the Photoprompt and Inlinkz on your page. Link your story URL. Then the fun starts as you read other peoples’ stories and comment on them!

PHOTO PROMPT (C) DALE ROGERSON

Rob’s chair

‘I shan’t be needing that again,’ said Rob, as we watched the first snow cover his garden chair on the terrace. I gave his arm a squeeze; there was nothing I could say.

He died mid-winter, and I got on with life, but even when spring came I left the chair where it was. It was Rob’s chair, to help me remember him, his laugh, his joie de vivre.

Eventually, I met someone else I could love and winter gave place to spring. We’re quietly happy together.

I haven’t told him about Rob’s chair – but I think he’s guessed.

Inlinkz – Click here to join the fun!

36 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Rob’s Chair

    • Dear Rochelle
      Thank you for your thoughtful comment. You’re right; moving on doesn’t mean forgetting; there’ll always be a part of you that feels the affinity you shared in life.
      Shalom
      Penny
      xx

      Like

Leave a comment