Friday Fictioneers – Memory’s Mirror

Every week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (thank you, Rochelle!) hosts a flash fiction challenge, to write a complete story, based on a photoprompt, with a beginning, middle and end, in 100 words or less. Post it on your blog, and include the Photoprompt and Inlinkz on your page. Link your story URL. Then the fun starts as you read other peoples’ stories and comment on them!

PHOTO PROMPT (C) Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Memory’s mirror

I first met Stephen at a concert in the Albert Hall. The shocking revelation that this man was my soul-mate almost battered me to the floor. I don’t know how I hid my emotion from my husband.

Of course, the whole thing was hopeless. I had children, Stephen had children, and, in any case, we loved our spouses, we really did. There was never more than the occasional silence, or a shy smile.

Now I’m old, a widow. My children live faraway; we see each other a few times a year, no more.

I often think about Stephen – and wonder.

Inlinkz – click here to join the fun!

32 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Memory’s Mirror

    • Thank you for commenting, Oneta. As you say, there is comfort in knowing that the path chosen was right. There’s perhaps even more comfort in having truly loved your husband and your children.

      Like

  1. Isn’t it good to know that there is more than one person out there that we are compatible with? We could love more than one person, even if a relationship is neither wanted nor possible. It’s the not harming others you also love that gets tricky. They may or may not meet again, the memory will last. Lovely story, Penny.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A beautifully written bitter-sweet story, Penny. She chose the better path in loving her husband by staying true to him. There will always be those “what ifs” in life. I think almost everyone can relate. I hope you enjoy your holiday weekend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comment, Sandra. It’s not explicit in the text (although there’s a hint) but my Main Character affirmed her love for her husband every day of their life together. He was always her first choice, despite the ‘coup de foudre’ and subsequent emotions.
      Happy Christmas to you, too!

      Like

  3. Oh, yes, Penny. I categorize such wonderful tales under “the paradox of love.’ I think our ability to love more than one person is called polyamorous. People to reunite after years. It happens. 🙂 Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely poignant story. I think many of us have a memory of a ‘what if’, but the reality might have been very different from the fantasy. If she looks Stephen up on Facebook, she might be surprised at what she finds.

    Like

  5. Penny, I love the way we both saw a long-lost love in the picture – and your story is so skilfully written I’ve read it several times. Not because it wasn’t crystal-clear, just because it’s so poignantly beautiful.

    Like

Leave a comment