Friday Fictioneers – Dangerous Liaison

Every week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (thank you, Rochelle!) hosts a flash fiction challenge, to write a complete story, based on a photoprompt, with a beginning, middle and end, in 100 words or less. Post it on your blog, and include the Photoprompt and Inlinkz on your page. Link your story URL. Then the fun starts as you read other peoples’ stories and comment on them!

PHOTO PROMPT © C E Ayr

Dangerous liaison

Alone on the beach, I stand silent. The winter sun dapples land and sea, confusing the eye.

I need to plan. What can I do? Where can I go?

I finish my cigarette with three long drags, but the nicotine hit brings no inspiration.

It was my own stupid fault.

Poor Dolores. Beautiful. Seductive. I couldn’t resist her. Giovanni had beaten the truth out of her, then killed her.

Perhaps if I go to London? By train, of course.

I turn towards the steps. It’s my only hope.

There’s a flash from the sand dunes. The sun on binoculars? or…

Inlinkz – click here to join the fun!

27 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Dangerous Liaison

  1. Craftily penned. The scene, the character, the tension — You set it up so perfectly. I think our hero is done for. (Btw, I didn’t see your lovely face on the InLinkz page: maybe I just missed it.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Penny,

    Dangerous describes the feel of this one. Well written as always. BTW, I would’ve missed this story, which would’ve been a pity, if I didn’t follow you.. Hope you didn’t have a problem linking.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for such a helpful comment, Neil. Using the setting to highlight the characters state of mind was what I was trying for, and It’s very useful to know it worked.
      Best wishes
      Penny

      Like

    • Thank you for such a kind comment, Iain. I’m glad you found the story moody and threatening. Isn’t it strange how the muse works? I was feeling particularly light-hearted as I penned this story!
      Best wishes
      Penny

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s amazing how you managed to change the (usually) peaceful beach scene into something confusing and threatening with just a few words. Very effective.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment