Friday Fictioneers – I let them be

Every week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (thank you, Rochelle!) hosts a flash fiction challenge, to write a complete story, based on a photoprompt, with a beginning, middle and end, in 100 words or less. Post it on your blog, and include the Photoprompt and Inlinkz on your page. Link your story URL. Then the fun starts as you read other peoples’ stories and comment on them!

PHOTO PROMPT (C) SANDRA CROOK

I let them be

The sun dropped towards the sea. Its glare dazzled me as I looked out from my apartment.

A couple of lads were lounging on the rocks below. Every so often they would crumple an empty can of cider and toss it onto my balcony; I heard a girl giggling.

I let them be.

It was dark when I heard shouting and went onto the balcony.

“What’s the matter?”

“My mates went for a swim and I can’t see them.”

The girl burst into tears.

I called the emergency services but it was no good. They didn’t even find the bodies.

Inlinkz – click here to join the fun!

46 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – I let them be

    • Indeed, yes. Unfortunately it happens. This is a true story in the sense that a couple of lads were drowned after drinking themselves silly; it didn’t happen by my apartment though – it was the next bay along.

      Like

Leave a comment