Friday Fictioneers – The Hero

Every week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (thank you, Rochelle!) hosts a flash fiction challenge, to write a complete story, based on a photoprompt, with a beginning, middle and end, in 100 words or less. Post it on your blog, and include the Photoprompt and Inlinkz (the blue frog) on your page. Link your story URL. Then the fun starts as you read other peoples’ stories and comment on them!

FF - Boots 180516

PHOTO PROMPT submitted by Courtney Wright. © Photographer prefers to remain anonymous

The Hero

What sort of man wears boots with soles and uppers held together by duct tape?

I tell you, such a man once saved my life.

Warm sunshine had tempted me into the sea, but suddenly, chilled, I realised I was caught in a rip current. I fought desperately, but I was nearly spent.

A calm voice spoke.

“Stop struggling and turn over.”

I obeyed, and felt strong hands support me. My rescuer swam parallel to the beach, then turned to land. Others joined us, and soon we were safe.

I’ll tell you what sort of man that is. A hero.

66 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Hero

    • Dear Neil
      Thank you for reading and for your lovely, and helpful, comment. It’s really useful to know when a particular technique has worked (or not, as the case may be!).
      With very best wishes
      Penny

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, that is beautiful! I’ve met a hero in just such a situation. He also happened to be my heart’s song at the time. 🙂 Thanks for the memory! I can almost feel his arms encircling me again. ahhhh, such love is memory.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear EagleAye
      Thank you for reading and for your thoughtful comment. I completely agree with you that everyone deserves respect and consideration.
      With very best wishes
      Penny

      Like

    • Dear Michael
      Thank you for reading and commenting. Asking whether the story is true is about the nicest compliment you could give me – thank you so much for that! In fact, it’s fiction, although I modelled the hero on a man I know (I’ve never seen him in quite such scruffy boots, but it wouldn’t surprise me if I did!), and I had a definite place in mind as well. Maybe in a parallel universe the story is true; who knows?
      With very best wishes
      Penny

      Like

    • Dear Alicia
      Thank you for reading and commenting. Yes, the incident was heading for a tragic ending until the hero arrived! And you’re right – heroes are often modest people.
      With best wishes
      Penny

      Like

Leave a comment