Turquoise World

Frederic is a talented poet in both French and English. ‘Turquoise World’ is one of my favourite poems of his. He’s posted the poem first in French, and then, below it, in English. If your French is good, read the French version first and enjoy the way it sounds. Otherwise, just read the English version, which is very good in its own right.

WORDS IN THE LIGHT

sur les eaux transparentes
j’ai vu ton âme scintiller

c’est un monde turquoise
baigné de lumière

m’as-tu dit
sans prononcer un mot

et je me suis laissé bercer
par les vagues de la Nuit

jusqu’à ce qu’en rêve
l’aube me ramène à la vie

~

like stars seen
through the clear water
I saw your soul sparkling

it’s a turquoise world
bathed in light
you said without a word

and I let myself
be lulled by
the waves of the Night

till Dawn in a dream
brings me back
to life

View original post

Leave a Reply

